The Future

How is it that one thing can be both scary and exciting at the same time?

Both unnerving and securing?

Something that I’d could run from or that I could run to.

Either way, the future is the unknown. That feeling of “what if” and “when” that comes together in a single package wrapped with a big bow of “how”.

Many will say that you need to focus on the present because it’s all we really have. The past is but a memory and the future is only a dream. The present is in our hands, in the moment. It is now.

But…I can’t help sneaking a peek at the future. Wondering where I’ll go, what will happen and how I’m going to get there. So far, my present is nothing like I thought it would be when I was 6 years old, when I was 14 years old, or even when I was 21 years old. All these changes and unforeseen curves in the road have now made me both cautious and anxious about my future.

And this leads me to ask, have I been fooling myself? By having an idea of what I want and that idea having never come together as I’d hoped, am I making it harder on myself to accept my true path and my more likely future?

As the old saying goes, “When Man plans, The Universe laughs.”

Maybe it’s time to stop making plans and to just live.

One thought on “The Future

Leave a Reply

