Nightmares

In my dreams, I fight for my life.

I kick, scream, bite, tear and beat at the life in front of me to survive.

I take a life to save my own. Only to have it repeat, night after night.

Why am I fighting so hard to live? What in my day to day reality is so draining that in my dreams I fight to take another breath?

The blood and tears choke me. The fear that it may never end, this battle to live, consume me.

I fight for myself. I fight to defend my beliefs. I fight to protect my son.

I am a soldier without armor fighting a never ending battle against a foe that will not die.

A foe I do not know how to defeat.

 

Leave a Reply

