Trust

Sometimes it is hard to let go and allow what will happen to happen. It’s hard to believe that there are just some things you can’t do anything about.

Letting go is one of the hardest areas in parenting for me. It’s a control issue, that’s for sure. I think I know what’s best for myself and for my son. I mean, I’m his mother, who would honestly know any better than me?!

So letting go when it comes to him and allowing what is meant to happen just happen makes my stomach turn. I want to protect him from all the bad things. I want to control what happens to him so that he doesn’t feel pain or sadness.

Right now we are apart as he vacations away from me, having a huge life experience. But the fact that he’s so far and in conditions I’m uncertain of makes my mind loop constantly with fear, doubt and worry.

But what is worrying? I’ve heard it said that worrying is like sitting in a rocking chair, rocking back and forth but going nowhere. It’s a waste of energy and time. And here I sit worrying for my son.

Instead of worrying I need to trust. Trust that I am strong enough to handle anything that I am given. Trust that my support system will be there for me no matter what. Trust that the love I have for my son is big enough to conquer anything we go through.

Trust that even though he’s far from me for a few more days that he knows my love for him will always be there, no matter what.

Trust that everything will be ok in the end. And if it’s not ok, it’s not the end.

Leave a Reply

