Release(d)

I don’t know when it happened,
when my shackles suddenly fell free.
But the day it happened was so sweet
because You had finally released
Me!

Little did I know,
[all that time ago]
that I was keeping myself locked away,
[safe and sound]
Until I realized one day
that my freedom had been found.

It wasn’t under the bed
or behind the couch.
It wasn’t hidden in an overhead
space
but instead placed in my heart
[safe and sound].

I never knew that it had never been gone,
just tucked behind a wall,
[safe and sound]
But always around
waiting for a new dawn.

Waiting for the watching eyes
and those scary words
to seek another prize.
Another target…

As suddenly as it began,
[as rudely as it started]
I was no longer a thought.
I was only a distance memory.
Like a hazy horizon,
you can’t seem to remember clearly.
Just cobwebs cluttering your view of today.

And when that sunny side-up
decided to finally rise,
I took a deep breath, filled my cup,
and sipped deeply of the azure skies
that freedom allows.

Thank You for letting Me go…

2 thoughts on “Release(d)

  1. This poem brought tears to my eyes. Sometimes we lose track of who we are and sometimes we hide our true selves away in fear of being hurt. Once we find ourselves again it seems to pick up where we left off except for the fact that you feel free. Thank you for taking the time to share this.

    • And thank you for reading and leaving a comment! I think many people can relate to that fresh start feeling once you find yourself. It’s very powerful and very moving 🙂

Leave a Reply

